Tassie

Age: 4 years Gender: Female
adultCrate-trainedFemaleGood with dogsHousetrainedlovesMediumNeeds another dog
Published: February 25, 2014

I've Been Adopted!

7 FEBRUARY 2016: Hey!  Yup, speaking to my forever family, where ever you may be. My name is Tassie, and I decided it was time for me to say something about myself! I am a very happy beagle girl. I love, love, love people and other dogs. And the few times I have met kids, I love them too. I love to run around in my back yard. My only issue is that I am a bit afraid to be out of my “comfort zone”.  My foster mom is trying to help me walk better on the leash. I walk ok for a bit but then want to go back home. Hopefully now that the snow has finally melted, we will be trying again. It looks like a lot of fun but I have to gain a bit more confidence.

When I came to my foster home, I was a very scared little girl, but I am going much better.  Loud noises still scare me but I’m sure they would bother you too.

I enjoy my foster brothers but wish they would play more. I really would like a sibling who will play with me. But I also enjoy cuddling with my humans.

I am not food aggressive but will steal food if I can get away with it. Mom says I’m a stinker!

I am house-broken. I am a very good girl with that. I actually have run of the house when my humans work.

As much as I like it here, I really would like a forever home and a family I can love!

7 JUNE 2015: Tassie has been with us for almost 2 months. She came to us a very scared little girl. But once she got comfortable in our home and her new surroundings, she has blossomed. She is still a bit scared especially of loud noises. She is very afraid of thunderstorms. But I just hold her close and let her know all is ok.

Tassie gets along great with her foster brothers. She is not food aggressive but will steal it if given the opportunity. But that’s what beagles do. She also does not bark a lot. I think she would enjoy a home with another dog.

She was crated for the first month and kept it clean all day. I have now given her the freedom of being out of the crate while we are at work and she has not had any accidents.

She likes to cuddle on the sofa when we are watching TV. And she really likes to just roam the backyard.

We are working on her leash manners. It took a while for me to get her to go on walks. She was afraid of being out of her “comfort zone” (the house or back yard).  She does pull on the leash but we are working on that.

13 DECEMBER 2014: Tassie enjoyed sitting in any lap she could find during our December adoption event!

20 MAY 2014: Tassie's vetting has been completed, and she is now available for adoption and looking for a foster home!

Original info: Tassie is a 2-year-old female who will be available for adoption after her vetting is completed.  She is very friendly and smiles at you but is a little submissive. She is also good with other dogs but was a stray in Louisa County, Virginia, so her history is unknown.

6 Responses

  1. How big would you say Tassie is? The article says M. Also has she been in Foster for 2 months or since May of last year? The write up is confusing. Would she need another dog to be adopted?

    Thanks! We are starting our search for another beagle & hope she will be from BREW again.

    • Erin

      Hi, Sharon – Tassie has been in her foster home for about two months; prior to that she had been in a kennel. I haven’t seen her in a while, but I’d guess Tassie to be about 25 pounds – “M” means approximately 20-30 pounds. She is doing well with other dogs in her foster home but also does well with people; her foster home would be able to talk to potential adopters about specifics. (Also, from Facebook, I am guessing you may be in the Midwest, so you might also want to consider Midwest BREW, which has been separate from BREW for several years: http://www.gotbeagles.org.) Thanks for your interest!

      • Thanks Erin,
        I always wondered about what M stood for and now my look a M dogs also. Our Lanie (Brew beagle from you), whom we lost the end of May weighed 19 pounds and we really liked her size. We are from Lancaster, PA (Eastern PA) and saw Lanie (Lorraine) when BREW was at a Petco near Philly.

        Tassie is a beautiful dog.

        Sharon

        • Erin

          You’re welcome! You can hover over any of the icons on a dog’s profile with your mouse to see what they mean. The S, M, and L icons are roughly under 20, 20-30, and over 30 pounds, but they are just estimates, as we don’t always have exact weights. We unfortunately don’t have any adoption days planned in eastern PA due to a very small volunteer base there, but we do hold events approximately monthly in northern Virginia, and arrangements can be made for approved adopters to meet dogs outside of events. Only a few of our dogs are fostered up “north,” but Tassie is actually in PA. Let us know if/when you are ready, and we can put you in touch with someone who works with former adopters.

  2. Keana Butler

    I live in Post Oak Virginia right outside of Louisa County and I am interested in meeting Tassie

    • Laura w/ BREW

      Keana, I will email you with Tassie’s contact info.

Leave a comment