Age: 4-5 Years Gender: Male
adultGood with dogsHousetrainedmaleMediumshy
Published: June 1, 2015

I've Been Adopted!

10 JULY 2015: I’ve been in my foster home for three weeks now, and things are going well. I am sort of getting the hang of the doggy door… it’s hard for me to push open, but I’ve learned to run through it with one of the other dogs when they go out. I love the big yard here; I am becoming quite skilled at running around it at top speed! I especially enjoy doing that if there’s another dog to chase. I just cannot get enough of play time with other dogs. The dogs here are older and a little too sedate for me, but mom lets the neighbor’s six month old golden retriever come over and play with me, and we have a ball! We wrestle and play chase and tug-of-war. My foster mom says that I am the life of the party, whatever that means. I recently met a cat and thought he might be fun to play with as well, but he did not share my enthusiasm, so I left him alone. I do occasionally get into mischief… is it my fault if I’m attracted to paper in those open containers all over the house called trashcans? Paper is fun, ‘cause you can shred it. Still, everyone who meets me thinks I’m adorable. **blushes** There is not an aggressive bone in my body.  I am also a good sleeper; I stay in my bed all night and don’t wander around. People still make me a little nervous – I’m a pretty shy guy around those who don’t have four legs – but on the upside, I have learned to come when mom calls my name. I am waiting patiently for my forever family to find me. If it’s you, please let the people at BREW know right away.

15 JUNE 2015: Day three with my foster family. These humans are pretty cool! I went home with the mom after the BREW event on Saturday and was thrilled to discover that she has two other dogs for me to play with. I also met the neighbor’s dog, and the two of us got along right away. Basically, dogs are the best company for me, so I would like to find a home that has one or more already living there. I am very timid with humans, but I am working on that. My foster mom took me to high school with her today, and there were these humans she called her “kids” who just couldn’t get enough of me. By the time I left there, I had loosened up a little and was enjoying the attention. I am completely house trained, and I walk pretty well on a leash, if I may say so myself. I do a little bit of nervous chewing now and then, but I am working on stopping that. I get plenty of bones and toys, and I am trying to remember that those are the only things I should chew. They say I am around seven years old, but my foster mom thinks I act quite a bit younger than that. She has posted a VIDEO of me playing with one of the other dogs here named Lulu. I think Lulu is kind of sweet on me. I do settle down nicely, though, when no one is in the mood to play. If you have a dog at home and would like to schedule a meet and greet, have your people get in touch with my people. In the meantime, I will work on perfecting my preciousness.

Original info: Gonzo is an approximately 4- to 5-year-old male (note: we think Gonzo is younger than originally estimated!) who weighs about 25 pounds and is shorter than your average beagle. Gonzo, Ginkgo and Sago were owner give ups that we rescued from a very overcrowded shelter in Bedford, VA. Gonzo is believed to be the father of Ginkgo and Sago. Stay tuned as we get to know them better!

6 Responses

  1. Hi!
    I am very interested in Gonzo. It sounds like he loves his playtime, and I would bring him to the local dog park every day (plus I live on a great walking path along the river!) That said, I don’t have any other dogs living with me, and I am wondering whether you think that’s okay for the little fella. There are many other dogs in my complex, so it is possible I could arrange playdates… Thank you for your honest feedback!

    Gaga for Gonzo,


  2. Kim

    Did gonzo fine a home?

    • Erin

      Hi, Kim – Gonzo is currently available for adoption. Thanks for your interest!

      • Kim

        I am in Canada. Is that an option?

        • Erin

          Hi, Kim – sorry, but Canada is very far out of our adoption area. BREW operates in the Washington DC/Philadelphia area, our process requires a home check, and we do not ship dogs. You might try Petfinder.com to search for adoptable dogs in your area. Thanks for your interest in adoption!

          • Kim

            Thank you. I’ve rescued dogs from Mexico so I thought I would ask. Good luck gonzo!

Leave a Reply to Kim